Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge – Those Who Wish Me Dead by Michael Koryta

Challenge

I just completed  Those Who Wish Me Dead by Michael Koryta the third book in my Goodreads Challenge and frankly I had a difficult time finishing the novel.

 

The story is a about a boy who witnesses the murder of police officers and is placed in the witness protection program while waiting to testify at trial. Unfortunately for the boy, two ruthless killers who also happen to be brothers want to keep him from testifying and won’t stop until he’s dead. In an attempt to keep him alive, the boy is sent to a wilderness camp/area in Montana where the police hope he will be off the grid and safe from those pursuing him

The plot seemed as though it might be interesting, but I found the story very slow moving and bogged down in flashbacks, character introspection and more information about wilderness survival than I would ever care to know about. Of course that’s just the city boy in me speaking, the outdoorsy types will probably love this book and find all the survival details fascinating.

I’ve read ever one of Michael Koryta’s novels, so I know he’s a excellent writer, unfortunately this story did not hold my interest and in my opinion is not his best work.

I give it a 3 star rating. I’ve read other reviews where people thought this story was edge of your seat, riveting ….. I wasn’t one of those people.

RATING: 3 out of 5 stars

NEXT BOOK: The Burning Room –  Michael Connelly

About jdonovels

Author of mystery stories and more
This entry was posted in Goodreads Challenge 2015, Opinion, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

