Year in Review 2016

I want to take a moment to reflect on what was accomplished this past year on my literary adventure.

In 2016 I released two new books.  A novella, Beneath the Roses in February and a book of mystery/thriller stories, Deadly Revelations: Stories about Love & Murder in November.

2016-02-17 09.17.34       deadlyrevelations

I also had several short stories published in three anthologies, Indies Unlimited 2015 Flash Fiction Anthology (June), Monster Maelstrom (October), and Christmas in Love (December).

monster-maelstrom-generic    Indies 2015   christmas-in-love

Throughout the year I participated in the Flash Fiction Challenge at the Indies Screenshot_2015-06-27-12-20-42-1-1-1Unlimited website and was fortunate enough to win the weekly challenge on three separate occasions.

 

The highlight of the year was when I discovered that the Florida Writers Association had chosen my book of Christmas stories, A Very Furry Christmas: Holiday Cat Tales as a finalist in the annual Royal Palm Literary Awards Competition.

FurryXmas_v4     RPLA_16_Finalist_Badge

Although the book didn’t win the top prize in its category, my wife and I attended the RPLA Awards Banquet for the first time where met several wonderful people and had a really great experience.

In terms of book sales, this year was slightly better than last year. I sold just shy of 300 books (including eBooks and paperbacks) and gave away close to 700 eBooks in various efforts to promote my books.

My Authors Blog JDO Novels was viewed 1,995 times by over 600 visitors from 50 different countries. I posted 86 articles and have 75 followers who receive emails of my Blog posts on a regular basis.

Overall, it’s been a very positive year.

The only thing that could have made it even better (besides more readers discovering my books) was if more readers who’d read my books would have taken the time to leave reviews on Amazon or Goodreads. Unfortunately, I have no control over that, so it’s not something I can do much about, but I can still dream.

Lastly, I’d like to send out a great big thank you to anyone who purchased or downloaded one of my books in 2016. I hope you enjoyed what you read and I hope you’ll continue to visit my Blog and my Author Facebook page in 2017.

Follow me on my literary adventures and I promise you….the journey will never be boring.

Happy Reading!

Paw

About jdonovels

Author of mystery stories and more
This entry was posted in milestone, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

