Twists and Turns

I really enjoy keeping my readers guessing, so I like to add several twists and turns to many of my mystery stories in hopes that the ending will come as complete surprise. If I can get the reader to think or say, “Wow, I didn’t see that coming?”  then I feel like I’ve done my job.

In a recent review of my novella, Beneath the Roses a kind reader posted that the story was good and had a lot of  twists in the plot, then added that perhaps it had too many twists.

I’m not sure what to make of that? I guess it’s possible to have so many twists and turns in a story or novel, that it takes away from the plot. In that case can it still be considered a good story?

Just wondering?  

About jdonovels

Author of mystery stories and more
This entry was posted in Beneath The Roses, Opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

