Writing Style

Famed director Alfred Hitchcock once said “Drama is life with the dull parts left out.” That’s my approach to writing a novel; more meat, less filler.

I have always disliked books that doddle on and on with long descriptive passages, having little to do with moving the story forward. You won’t find that in my books, I’m more in tune with the late detective/mystery novelist Robert Parker’s style of writing, where the story is told through fast and witty dialog.

Another aspect of my writing is to incorporate a number of twist and turns along the way, so as to keep you guessing until the end of the story. If you figure out who dun nit before the end of the book, then I haven’t done my job.

If these are the type of mystery, suspense or thriller books you find pleasure in reading then I think you will enjoy reading my stories.

In any case, it’s never a dull moment.

Happy Reading

JDO

FAVORITE AUTHORS

These are some of my favorite authors in the mystery, suspense and thriller genre.


Andrew Gross – http://andrewgrossbooks.com/
Brian Freeman – http://www.bfreemanbooks.com/
Donna Leon – http://www.donnaleon.net/
James Grippando – http://jamesgrippando.com/
John Rector – http://johnrector.blogspot.com/
Karin Slaughter – http://www.karinslaughter.com/
Kevin O’Brien – http://kevinobrienbooks.com/
Michael Connelly – http://www.michaelconnelly.com/
Michael Koryta – http://www.michaelkoryta.com/
Robert B. Parker – http://www.robertbparker.net/
Robert Crais – http://www.robertcrais.com/
Scott Pratt – http://www.scottprattfiction.com/
Steve Hamilton – http://www.authorstevehamilton.com/
Todd Borg – http://toddborg.com/
William Kent Krueger – http://www.williamkentkrueger.com/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s