Amazon: Ratings without Reviews – One Year Later

Just a little over a year ago Amazon introduced a new policy whereby a buyer can leave a 1-5 Star Rating without having to identify themselves or include a written review. I believe the folks at Amazon had good intentions when they introduced this revised policy. I think they were trying encourage more buyers to rate a product by making it easier to do so.

At the time this was implimented, I wasn’t crazy about the idea, but I wanted to give it a chance before commenting on it.

Now, a year later, I can tell you that from my perspective, I did indeed receive more ratings for my books then I did the previous year, and certainly more ratings than reviews. So I guess it accomplished what Amazon had intented.

Unfortunately, there are also negative consequences. In all honesty the ratings for my books crossed the entire spectrum between 1 to 5 stars, so I’m not complaining about any individual rating, but rather ratings in general.

From an authors perspective a 1 through 5 star rating is rather useless without knowing the intention of the reader. What does getting a 1 or 2 star rating mean? Obviously they didn’t enjoy the book, but why would they give it a low rating when others give it 4 or 5 stars? Not knowing the answer to that question is just plain frustrating and gives no indication of what they didn’t like about the book. Same is true for 4 or 5 star ratings, why did they enjoy the book while others didn’t?As an author and a reader I would think that knowing the answer to that question would be important.

From a readers perspective a poor rating or even a great rating without an accompanying review gives no insight into what made the book enjoyable or crappy for that matter.

For example, before the new policy I received a 1 star rating for one of my books and the reader was forced to leave a review which consisted of two words, ‘Not good’ Those two words tell you nothing about the book, but are enough to make a judgement on the validity of the review. A 1 star rating without a review tells you nothing, just like 5 stars without a review could mean anything from the reader loved the book cover or they loved it because it was a short quick read.

Obviously all authors would like their books to be highly rated, but I don’t mind low ratings if the reader tells me what they didn’t like about the book.

Not having that perspective kind of cheapens the entire rating/review process for both potentially new readers and the writers themselves.

Obviously, nothing I say will change Amazon’s policy, but I still wanted to give you my two cent.

What do you think about this subject? Does it even matter?

About jdonovels

Author of mystery stories and more
This entry was posted in Opinion, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.